RSS

Home Ed Camp

06 Aug

Last week was spent in the company of lots of other home-ed families who live locally to us.  The kids had an absolutely amazing time: E was up and out from first thing in the morning until last thing at night.  H had fun exploring and playing. L loved the freedom of the open space and people to smile at! I had an exhausting time, trying to keep up with them all, and finally caught a break on day 4, when L decided to have a full-on sleep for over 2 hours.  It was bliss.  I even managed to read a whole 2 pages of my book!

Everyone had brought an activity or an idea for an activity, so there was always something to do, but most things evolved from ideas from the children themselves.  They put on a fantastic play on one of the days, complete with costumes made from a box of random material and bits from the scrapstore.  They came up with their own characters and (vague) storyline!  It involved a queen, 2 greedy princesses, a footballer, a donkey who pooed gold (!!), peter pan, and I’m sure others I’ve forgotten.  One of the parents acted as narrator to bring it all together.  It was fab.  And the next day they put on Act 2!

We had music sessions using amazing instruments brought along by another family. I constructed a den from bamboo and willow, which we then weaved material around.  Very therapeutic!  There were walks organised.  Geocaching trips.  Children’s yoga.  Ball games.  Slackrope walking.  Tug ‘o war.

One of the best bits were the communal meals in the evening, all cooked on the campfire.  I’m a rubbish cook, so it was amazing to watch it all coming together.  It’s a skill I need to learn!  And the kids ate their body weight in marshmallows.

Oh and someone booked the weather too!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2010 in camping

 

5 responses to “Home Ed Camp

  1. Claire

    August 10, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Sounds amazing – I must be braver next year and come along!

     
  2. Ailbhe

    August 10, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    Hi there – aaaaaages ago (June) you left me a comment with a link to an interactive Tree of Life; I haven’t been able to work out how to buy the poster which I feel sure exists to complement that web-page, so I’m popping back to ask if you can enlighten me, because it looks brilliant. Help? Please?

     
    • Schools Out

      August 17, 2010 at 9:05 pm

      Hi Ailbhe, I’ve searched and searched, and it looks like the OU have stopped producing it, which is very annoying! I have it stuck up on our wall, so I will see if either I can take a very good photo of it and send it to you, or see if I can colour photocopy it. It might be worth putting a plea out on some home ed forums to see if anyone has an unwanted copy?

       
      • Ailbhe

        August 17, 2010 at 9:53 pm

        Oooh, a colour photocopy would be brilliant, thanks – I can Paypal you copy and postage costs? if that sounds reasonable do email me.

         
      • Schools Out

        September 8, 2010 at 9:56 pm

        Hi Ailbhe – sorry have been ridiculously rubbish with replying to comments. The poster is currently stuck to our wall behind H’s dolls house. Its clearly not being used to its full potential! I will attempt to separate it (delicately) from the wall, and will endeavour to post it to you! Just seen your email address..will email you!

         

I would love to hear what you think! Please leave a reply

 
