RSS

My question of the day…

29 Mar

…why are children welcome at funerals but not weddings?

I tried to pose this as my facebook status, but B made me remove it as I was highly likely to offend someone! We’ve been asked to a number of weddings since we’ve had kids, but almost always just us and not the kids. We are not ones to talk really, as we didn’t have kids at our wedding, this was more because we didn’t really know anyone with kids at the time!

Recently B’s Grandad died, and I was umming and ahhing about whether to go to his funeral with the kids, and wasn’t sure whether they were too young etc. I sparked a nice little debate on facebook about this, and the general concensus was that kids are perfectly welcome at funerals, more often than not for the light relief they bring!

I just don’t understand what is so taboo about kids at weddings? Is it the cost? The inconvenience they could bring? The noise they make?!! My kids love the idea of weddings, the dressing up element, the fairytale picture of it all they have in their heads! We’re just about to turn down an invite to a very old friends wedding, sadly. Children are not invited to the church or meal, only the evening do. Which would be great if it wasn’t in deepest, darkest wales somewhere. And yes, I’m a cheapskate not wanting to stay over!! Unfortunately we don’t have family close by who are willing and able to take on the task of having all the kids for 24hrs, I am very jealous of those who have grandparents at their beck and call!!!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “My question of the day…

  1. Heather

    March 30, 2010 at 8:18 am

    It doesn't make much sense huh? I've never thought about it before. I would be happier to have kinds at the church and dinner than evening do cause you'd want to drink and be merry and stuff and not have to worry about kids…but that's juts me personally and my kids. and i would have no desire to take them to a funeral.

     
  2. Bridget

    March 30, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    My Dh's brother only invited my Dh and myself to his wedding, it was over 100 miles away and we had 5 children. We took it as a duty invite and he didn't realy want us to go because he knew it would be impossible! I think some people don't want to inevitable baby crying during the service, it also messes up the video!

     
  3. Jax

    April 3, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    children are a part of life and should be welcome at all ceremonies through it. I wouldn't go to a wedding where my kids weren't welcome. However, I do know that various members of my family think kids shouldn't go to funerals as it's too traumatic for them – there was even debate as to whether my niece and nephew should go to their mother's funeral, which to me is obvious – if they want to go, they should.

     

I would love to hear what you think! Please leave a reply

 
